You’re Shy

What the hell are you talking about? I'm not shy. Don't get me wrong, I'm no offended but people these days don't even know the difference between shyness and just keeping your mouth shut. Some people just won't shut up. What gets under my skin most is when actual shy people, tell me I'm shy. Isn't that like a paradox or something? Anyway that's not important.

What is important is that there's absolutely nothing wrong with being shy. In fact being shy is totally underrated. I'm not going to deny my shy tendencies sometimes but those exist for a completely different reason and are not exactly typical shyness.

Now here is the real kicker. Don't like being shy? Well try this drug. What else is new. There is this drug called Paxil, which for some reason each time I read the name reminds me of Pixar. It is supposed to be able to turn introverts into extroverts. Sounds fascinating but after reading the article of a fellow who gave it a try, I'm hardly surprised.

In retrospect, it was a bad idea to screw with my brain chemistry and possibly inflict lifelong damage just for the sake of experiment. I would not do something like this again. At the height of my withdrawal I was seriously terrified, thought it might never end, and repeatedly cursed my own stupidity.

Moral of the story? There's nothing wrong with being shy and anybody who tells you otherwise is not worth your time.

Stay in school, drugs aren't cool.

6 Responses to “You’re Shy”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I find that really extroverted people just get annoyed with people who are not extroverted like they are, sometimes. They assume that introverts just wish they were like them. I do enjoy being around extroverted people, since it means I do not have to make up a bunch of chit chat (they do all the talking!), but I wouldn’t say I want to *be* like them. They can keep their pills.

  2. Alex Says:

    Yeah I agree. I think its all relative. I’m sure most of us have places/moments where we are most comfortable.

  3. Guru Panguji Says:

    Actually I don’t completely agree with you Jennifer. Even extroverted people have their own shell, in which they like to go at times. :-D! Well, I am full blown example.

    Agreed that some of them are assholes ;-), but then some of these “extroverted” people do have the heart. Well, I understand when people don’t wanna talk and just listen. And being extroverted, you should really not have any problem when people are just listening to you! :-D!

    But, yeah I can relate to what you are saying. Some of them can be irritating :-D!

  4. Guru Panguji Says:

    And whoa… Pills for moods?? WTF??

  5. Alex Says:

    haha 😀

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Guru… first, sorry it took me so long to respond. I just found your comment.

    Second, don’t misunderstand me, it’s not that I think extorverted people are all irritating or assholes. You guys are usually the life of the party!

    It’s just that most people I know who are extroverted tend to look at introversion as a fault or flaw, something the intorvert needs to fix… whereas, I don’t notice the same in reverse usually from introvert to extrovert.

    I don’t have anything against extroverts, I just do not generally sit around wishing I could be more extroverted (though there are times when I do), and I certainly would not risk my health for a pill that claims to make me more extroverted… that’s all I’m sayin’ 🙂


Leave a Reply

