Talk to thy self

I was on the bus yesterday and a thought came to mind. I’ve thought about this before, but back then I didn’t have a blog to post it to! πŸ˜›

Ever notice someone talking to themselves? I bet you wanted to look at your friend and do the “he’s crazy” gesture.
Ever notice someone talking on a cellular phone? I bet you didn’t even look twice at them.

So here’s my question, what’s the difference?

I mean think about it. When you’re talking on a cell phone, all you’re really doing is talking to a little plastic box, from which you get an auditory signal back. If that’s socially acceptable, why is talking to yourself so … not?

It’s funny, if we asked for a show of hands of how many people talk to themselves, a lot of people won’t be truthful, but why? What’s the big deal? I don’t get it…

4 Responses to “Talk to thy self”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    blurring the lines even more… all those blue tooth devices… people look like they are talking to themselves when they are actually talking on a cell phone.

  2. Alex Says:

    >when they are actually talking on a cell phone

    I guess unless there is someone to answer back to what you’ve said, we consider that to be not normal?

    What if the only answer you need is the one that nobody can hear, the answer that comes from within…

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I talk to myself all the time, so it’s perfectly normal to me πŸ™‚

    But, that said, I see a difference between talking to myself and talking to somebody else in a cell phone. When I talk to myself, I am clarifying my thoughts for myself alone. If I’m talking to somebody else, I am exchanging thoughts. I guess it’s mostly the people who don’t need the occassional out-loud clarification who think it’s weird to talk to yourself. Eh? Screw ’em…

  4. CT Says:

    Good observation. I encountered the same thing a while back, and found it refreshing when it was obvious that it really was a nutjob just talking into the air, versus some Bluetooth-enabled dork. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

