Moving WordPress

And here I thought that just because wordpress.com has an “export” button, that the whole importing thing would work out to be easier…

Nope not a chance. Some of you may have noticed my brief post about me moving to a new host…away from wordpress.com.

Here are some thoughts:

  • Less fun then it may appear
  • WordPress.com has some nice features implemented.
  • Now that I’ve made my site popular…I’m going to lose all my visitors?
  • Argh, why won’t you just import!
  • I payed how much for this headache?
  • I don’t even like blogging THAT much.
  • Mommy

No but seriously, think twice before actually moving. I was never actually going to move, until a “brilliant” plan snuck up on me. Of course it’s a secret plan so … I can’t share it with you, but rest assured, that if it makes me rich, I’ll fill you in!

Just kidding…

If anybody has any suggestion as to how to import a wordpress.com export into a fresh wordpress install, please fill me in. This RSS 2.0 crap is driving me bananas. I have a feeling I’m going to have to fill the database … by hand … hopefully with someone else’s hands! 😛

3 Responses to “Moving WordPress”

  1. Shirley Says:

    I’m not savvy about the technical side, but I think your header is beautiful.

    Blessings,

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  2. Alex Says:

    Thank you Shirley!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I’ve been thinking about moving too… so far, I haven’t been able to get past the idea that it wouldn’t be free.

    Did you already try going through the FAQS and forums for advice on how to export?

    Make sure to post a link when you’re moved, so we can follow you 🙂


Leave a Reply

