The Future of IPTV

iptvI had an opportunity yesterday to sit in on an IPTV presentation that was put together here at Alcatel, for the summer students.

For those of you who are not familar with what IPTV is exactly, it is basically when digital television and internet will unite into one digital stream.

We saw a bunch of presentations about how you can recieve phone-calls on your TV, chat on an instant messenger, control your TV from mobile devices, and the like. However I wasn’t very impressed. I mean just how much time do you spend at your TV a day? If you’re anything like me, then it’s probably 3-4 hours a week max. I’m a busy guy, I don’t have time to just check my email on my tv and browse through channels. I’d much rather do that on my computer, since while I’m there I can fine-tune my resume and download some music.

As much hype as there is/was about IPTV I’m not impressed at all. All those resources should be spent on something else.

One Response to “The Future of IPTV”

  1. Big D Says:

    I work for a telephone company and we have offered IPTV for the last 2 years. It’s been a good revenue stream for us and there are some good features such as caller ID. That way when your watching TV the name and number appears on the screen, no searching for the phone to see if you want to answer it. You are right there are alot of features that don’t make much sense to me.


Leave a Reply

