Arm Wrestling

OverTheTop_F12.jpg

Today is Thursday eh…I planned to make this post on Sunday.

On Sunday, like I mentioned I went to play volleyball at the beach again with my vball crew. As usual the weather was awesome and we had a blast playing volleyball. I’m actually surprised at how good I play volleyball, I should really play more often, seems like have good instincts!

Anyway the cool part of the day came towards the end when we met Devon Larratt. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Devon, he’s an arm wrestler. In fact he’s ranked #1 in Canada and #4 in North America. As you may or may not know, I’m a fan of physical things, sports, weightlifting and the like. I’ve always thought arm wrestling was cool but never did I realize all the mechanics and technique that went into it.

As it turned out Devon comes to the beach on Sundays with a bunch of other guys and they practice for tournaments etc. So naturally we were drawn to the crowd gathering around these guys. Obviously Devon was undefeated but that’s not to say that he actually arm wrestled anybody. He just stood there and let other guys push on his arm while maintaining technique and proper mechanics.

I figured I’d take a go at it… A lot of information in a short amount of time, let’s just say that. From the hip positioning to shoulder placement and finger clasping, arm wrestling is pretty technical. But damn it’s awesome. I arm wrestled with one of the guys we were playing volleyball with. All in all it was pretty intriguing. I got home and made it my mission to find out more about the sport. Now I’m going to be on the mailing list, so :D.

7 Responses to “Arm Wrestling”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Have you been practicing your strained facial expressions and grunts too? Those are very important techniques of the sport, I think πŸ™‚

  2. Jennifer Says:

    By the way, I dig your new header image.

  3. Alex Says:

    haha that is true, they say you’re only supposed to look at your arm though, keeps the focus on you, doesn’t get you distracted, I’m sure I made some funny faces though! πŸ˜›

    There’s 5 different header images now, and they are randomly displayed … I wonder which one you saw?

  4. Jennifer Says:

    I saw the Tiger. And the tiger is still there. Coincidence? Or do they just shuffle slowly throught the day? I also saw a nice one the otehr day with a lake scene, which I liked too. I’ll keep an eye out for the other 3 πŸ™‚

  5. Alex Says:

    you must not be being random enough πŸ˜›

    If you keep seeing the tiger one, maybe it’s a sign … for something

  6. Jennifer Says:

    Ooh! I see a car! Maybe the random thing just takes practice.

  7. Alex Says:

    .. or skill πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

