Dumas and Monte Cristo

My interest has been sparked to give ‘The Count of Monte Cristo‘ by Alexandre Dumas a go … again. Yes, I once set my eyes upon this book, and I remember Mercedes but I never got very far in the book. I think I wasn’t “ready” for it.

A few days ago I went online and requested the book at my local library. Today I got the call that it came, so I was excited to go pick it up. I always get excited when getting a new book, I enjoy the feeling of getting lost in a book too much.

The Count of Monte Cristo

I was a bit surprised  by its size. For some reason I don’t recall it being this huge last time. While examining the book I happened to look at it’s spine and I noticed something fascinating, which in turn led me to post about it…

The Count of Monte Cristo

(I added a few measurements to show just how thick it is. Just to think that I wanted to take this book with me on the bus…)

You’ll notice something interesting, how the softcover only has a crease on the first 1/5th of the book. I suppose it is good to know that I am not alone in my attempts to conquer this novel. I hear there is a lesson to be learned…

5 Responses to “Dumas and Monte Cristo”

  1. Jen Says:

    Ha, that’s funny. I also attempt about every 4th book to squeeze in a classic. I feel as though people think I”m less of a person if I ONLY read modern novels. But the reality is that most of the time, my brain is on work/mental overload and who the heck can “unwind” to a 16,000 page book containing 132 characters who speak in a funny language? LEt me know how far you make it in this one- I’ve always wanted to read it, but am afraid. Very afraid.

    I did just read “A Separate Peace” which was short, but I just don’t get the magnitude on what makes these books so “good”. I’ll take Chuck Palahniuk, Jodi Picoult, Tess Gerritsen, or David Sedaris anyday. Does that make me less of a person???????

  2. JV Says:

    I’ve already watched the movie starring James Caviezel; and I like it! And since it is a movie, everything is compressed, some infos lacking. If I have the time, I’ll read the novel too:razz:

  3. Finlay Says:

    I started reading it yesterday and have sat down for 2 days hard reading and am only 300 pages into it. I have to say it is great and very enjoyable to read. My plan is to read it in a week because i have so many other books i need to read!

  4. Mindless » Blog Archive » God doesn’t limp Says:

    […] I didn’t last very long with reading The Count of Monte Cristo, and I stopped around the same place as everybody else. Edmond was just jailed. To make up for my laziness I downloaded borrowed the movie. I recommend you watch the movie and skip the 1000 page monster. […]

  5. ggwfung Says:

    It’s a beast of a work, but fortunately, unlike most “classics” it’s a real page turner – it reads more like a Stephen King or Michael Crichton. It just romps.

    Enjoy!

    ggw


Leave a Reply

