Something to think about

Seeing as how classes start on Thursday I decided to clean up my table, sort through my old notes and get things in order.
The easy part was getting stuff sorted into two piles, throw-out and to-keep.  Now as far as getting the to-keep stuff organized and put back into more logical places, that turned out to be the hard part. Maybe today just wasn’t a very organized day for me.

While cleaning up I ran into a few interesting things. First there was a piece of paper with an inspirational message on it. You can see a scan of it below.
the station

It’s called “The Station” and the story reads like this:

TUCKED AWAY IN OUR SUBCONSCIOUS IS AN IDYLIC VISION. WE SEE OURSELVES ON A LONG TRIP THAT SPANS THE CONTINENT. WE ARE TRAVELING BY TRAIN. OUT THE WINDOWS WE DRINK IN THE PASSING SCENE OP CARS ON NEARBY HIGHWAYS, OP CHILDREN WAVING AT A CRdSSING, OP CATTLE GRAZING ON A DISTANT HILLSIDE, OF SMOKE POURING FROM A POWER PLANT, OF ROW UPON ROW OF CORN AND WHEAT, OP FLATLANDS AND VALLEYS, OF MOUNTAINS AND ROLLING HILLSIDES, OF CITY SKYLINES AND VILLAGE HALLS.

BUT UPPERMOST IN OUR MINDS IS THE FINAL DESTINATION. ON A CERTAIN DAY AT A CERTAIN HOUR WE WILL PULL INTO THE STATION, BANDS WILL BE PLAYING AND FLAGS WAVING. ONCE WE GET THERE SO MANY WONDERFUL DREAMS WILL COME TRUE AND THE PIECES OP OUR LIVES WILL FIT TOGETHER LIKE A COMPLETED JIGSAW PUZZLE. HOW RESTLESSLY WE PACE THE AISLES, DAMNING THE MINUTES FOR LOITERING-—WAITING, WAITING, WAITING FOR THE STATION.

‘WHEN WE REACH THE STATION, THAT WILL BE IT’ WE CRY, ‘WHEN I’M 18.’ ‘WHEN I BUY A NEW 450 SL MERCEDES BENZ WHEN I PUT THE LAST KID THROUGH COLLEGE.’ ‘WHEN I HAVE PAID OFF THE MORTGAGE.’ ‘WHEN I GET A PROMOTION.’ ‘WHEN I REACH THE AGE OF RETIREMENT, I SHALL LIVE HAPPILY EVER AFTER!’

SOONER OR LATER WE MUST REALIZE THERE IS NO STATION, NO ONE PLACE TO ARRIVE AT ONCE AND FOR ALL. THE TRUE JOY OP LIFE IS THE TRIP. THE STATION IS ONLY A DREAM. IT CONSTANTLY OUTDISTANCES US. IT ISN’T THE BURDENS OF TODAY THAT DRIVE MEN MAD. IT IS THE REGRETS OVER YESTERDAY AND THE FEAR OF TOMMORROW. REGRET AND FEAR ARE TWIN THIEVES THAT ROB US OF TODAY.

SO STOP PACING THE AISLES AND COUNTING THE MILES. INSTEAD, CLIMB MORE MOUNTAINS, EAT MORE ICE CREAM, GO BAREFOOT MORE OFTEN, SWIM MORE RIVERS, WATCH
MORE SUNSETS, LAUGH MORE, CRY LESS. LIFE MUST BE LIVED AS WE GO ALONG. THE STATION WILL COME SOON ENOUGH.

Now I asked my mom if she was the one who gave it to me, but she denies to ever have read it. I’m not sure how I got it, or why it was in one of my drawers, or who A.P is. Thought provoking though.

Another thing I ran into while cleaning is something that could make me rich … if it was real.
millions

Where did I get that? Why do I have it? I have no idea why, but I think I’ll put that in my wallet, because you never know when I might have to pay someone off with a 1 Million Canadian bill. Or perhaps something more amusing would be to go into a Dollarama and ask that the fellow behind the cash give me that bill in quarters.

And the last thing of interest that I found was this:
brick game

Now depending on how old you are and where you grew up, that may hold no resemblance or interest. But for those who are curious, that is a Brick Game 8IN1 (E-88). You have no idea how much of my childhood was spent playing that game. That was perhaps the toy of my childhood. And terminator was always with me…
I actually think Tetris helped develop my more analytical self. It’s amazing how good I was a kid at that game!

Nostalgic…

3 Responses to “Something to think about”

  1. CyberCelt Says:

    Here from In Place of Incandescence for C&C Monday. I am a tetris freak.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I love going through old boxes of stuff like that from time to time 🙂 You always find the coolest stuff.

  3. Alex Says:

    Thanks for stopping by CyberCelt 😉


Leave a Reply

