Faith, Religion and God

The most talked about subject on and off the internet. The one that ruins marriages, strains family relationships, alienates friends, starts flame wars and accomplishes nothing. Yes I’m talking about the debate between Atheists and Theists.

Today’s post (long overdue and it’s been kind of dry lately eh?) was inspired by AngryLittleGirl. Jessica, as she calls herself, is an attractive 18 year old from some part of the US (as I can only guess?). The way I found her was because of her response to the Blasphemy Challenge posted on their site.

Jessica is a “proud Atheist” and has made more than a dozen videos mocking and poking fun at religion and people’s faith. Which exactly where my gripe lies. While I know all too well how annoying it is when religious groups try to force on you their religious beliefs, at the same time I know that I couldn’t force myself to take the Blasphemy Challenge. Not because I fear God, I’m not even religious, but because I can acknowledge the fact that we know and understand very little of what is around us.

Do yourself a favour and on a clear night look up at the sky. Look past the dots of light and realize that there is something at work all around us. Something much bigger than ourselves and our silly debates.

I have friends who are quite the scientists. Studying DNA and molecular biology. The consensus is that the world around is far too complex to have happened by chance over millions of years.  So I’m not ready to denounce anybody just because of their beliefs.

Leave a Reply

